Skip to content

MEDIA ADVISORY: Senate HELP Committee to Mark Up Landmark Labor Legislation

WASHINGTON, June 19 – On Wednesday, June 21, the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions (HELP) Committee will be marking up the most significant set of labor law reforms in modern American history. At a time when this country is experiencing more income and wealth inequality than ever before, the committee intends to pass legislation which represents the needs of the long-neglected working class of this country.

Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), the chairman of the HELP Committee, will be on the floor of the Senate Tuesday afternoon to discuss this legislation in detail.

The three bills that the Committee will be voting on are:

The Paycheck Fairness Act would end the absurdity of women earning substantially less than men for doing the same work. This legislation would make it easier for women to come together, file, and win lawsuits against unscrupulous employers who commit wage discrimination.

The Healthy Families Act which would end, once and for all, the international embarrassment of the United States of America being the only major country on earth not to guarantee paid sick days to workers. This legislation would guarantee that every worker in America receive up to seven paid sick days by their employers.

The PRO Act would make it easier, not harder, for workers to join unions and successfully secure a first union contract. At a time when there has been a significant increase in the desire of workers to join unions, we cannot allow large corporate interests to continue to break the law, and deny their employees the constitutional right to organize.

What: Senate HELP Committee Markup

  • S. 728, Paycheck Fairness Act
  • S. 1664, Healthy Families Act
  • S. 567, Richard L. Trumka Protecting the Right to Organize Act of 2023

When: 10:00 a.m. ET, Wednesday, June 21, 2023
Where: 430 Dirksen Senate Office Building. The executive session will also be livestreamed on the HELP Committee’s website.
Who: Senate HELP Committee Members