Skip to content

Alexander and Bennet Introduce Resolution Recognizing 16th Annual National Charter Schools Week

23 senators mark annual event to celebrate the more than 6,700 charter schools across the nation

Washington, D.C., May 6 – Sens. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Michael Bennet (D-Colo.) along with 21 cosponsors, this week introduced a resolution congratulating the students, parents, teachers, and administrators of charter schools across the nation, expressing strong support for public charter schools and marking the 16th annual National Charter Schools Week, which lasts from May 3 to 9 this year. 

Alexander said: “Charter schools now serve nearly 3 million children throughout the country and are the formula to help our children learn what they need to know and be able to do so they can succeed in life. Our bill to fix No Child Left Behind will help states replicate and expand their best charter schools—giving more principals the freedom to lead, more teachers the freedom to exercise their own good judgment, and more parents the freedom to choose the school that is best for their child.”

Bennet said: “All kids, regardless of their zip code, deserve access to a high quality education. In Colorado, many charter schools are improving student achievement and preparing students for success in college and careers. National Charter Schools Week is an opportunity to recognize the accomplishments of our teachers, school leaders, parents, and students who help create successful charter schools.”

The resolution is cosponsored by 21 senators, including Sens. Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Diane Feinstein (D-Calif.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Mark Kirk (R-Ill.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), John McCain (R-Ariz.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Marco Rubio (R-Fl.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), and David Vitter (R-La.).

Alexander and Bennet are members of the Senate education committee, which last month voted unanimously to approve legislation by Senate education committee Chairman Alexander and Ranking Member Patty Murray (D-Wash.) that would update and strengthen charter school programs and allow states to replicate or expand high-quality charter schools.

# # #