Alexander Votes to Confirm National Labor Relations Board Nominees

WASHINGTON, July 29, 2020 — United States Senator Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) today released the following statement on Senate confirmation of Marvin Kaplan and Lauren McFerran to serve as members of the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB):


“Today the Senate confirmed two qualified nominees, one Republican, one Democrat, to the National Labor Relations Board—keeping with the bipartisan tradition of maintaining balance on the board, which has been without a Democrat member since December.”


Marvin Kaplan is a current member of the NLRB, and Lauren McFerran was previously confirmed to be a member of the NLRB in 2014 until her term expired last December. Both were confirmed by the Senate today to serve new terms at the NLRB.


As chairman of the Senate’s labor committee, Alexander held a committee vote on June 3 where Mr. Kaplan and Ms. McFerran’s nominations were favorably reported.