Full Committee Hearing ESSA Implementation: Perspectives from Education Stakeholders

Date: Wednesday, May 18, 2016 Time: 10:00 AM Location: 430 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Open in New Window


  1. Ms. Lily Eskelsen Garcia
    National Education Association
    Washington, DC
  2. Ms. Randi Weingarten
    American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO
    Washington, DC
  3. Dr. Tony Evers
    State Superintendent of Public Instruction
    Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
    Madison, WI
  4. Dr. Thomas Ahart
    Des Moines Public Schools
    Des Moines, IA
  5. Dr. Nora Gordon
    Associate Professor
    McCourt School of Public Policy, Georgetown University
    Washington, DC
  6. Ms. Denise Marshall
    Executive Director
    Council of Parent Attorneys and Advocates
    Towson, MD
  7. Ms. Janet Murguia
    President and CEO
    National Council of La Raza
    Washington, DC


Those in need of accommodations, including closed captioning for webcast hearings, should contact the Committee at 202-224-5375 or accessibility@help.senate.gov. So as to best enable staff to make arrangements, please call or email at least 3 business days in advance of the hearing.