Skip to content

Ranking Member Cassidy Opposes Biden Labor Policy Nominees During Executive Session Vote

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Senator Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA), ranking member of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee, voted in opposition to six Biden administration nominees to the Department of Labor (DOL) and other labor-related independent agencies during an off-the-floor HELP Committee executive session.

The committee voted on the nominations of Kalpana Kotagal to be a Member of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, Jessica Looman to be Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division, Jose Javier Rodriguez to be Assistant Secretary for the Employment and Training Administration, Moshe Marvit to be Member of Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission, Linda Puchala to be Member of the National Mediation Board, and Deirdre Hamilton to be Member of the National Mediation Board.

The nominees voted on were previously nominated and considered by the HELP Committee during the 117th Congress, but failed to receive floor votes. All six nominees were reported out of the committee favorably; Kotagal (11-10), Looman (12-9), Rodriguez (11-10), Marvit (11-10), Puchala (13-8), and Hamilton (13-8).